Breaking: FIA announce Lewis Hamilton penalty verdict after……read more

FIA announce Lewis Hamilton penalty verdict after……read more
The FIA has released its official verdict regarding the on-track clash between Lewis Hamilton and Carlos Sainz during the closing laps of the 2025 Miami Grand Prix. The incident in question occurred as both drivers were fighting for eighth place in the race, resulting in minor contact at Turn 17 of the Miami circuit.
In the final stages of the Grand Prix, Sainz, driving for Williams, made an aggressive move to overtake Hamilton on the inside line heading into Turn 17. As he attempted the maneuver, the two cars came into contact at the apex of the corner. The collision prompted an immediate post-race investigation by the stewards, who examined whether either driver had breached the FIA’s International Sporting Code—specifically, Appendix L, Chapter IV, Article 2 d). This rule deals with proper on-track conduct and responsibilities during overtaking attempts.
After a detailed analysis of the incident, the stewards concluded that neither Hamilton nor Sainz bore full responsibility for the collision. Instead, the verdict acknowledged that both drivers had a role in causing the incident. According to the stewards’ findings, Carlos Sainz was not fully alongside Hamilton at the moment of the attempted overtake, which meant he was not entitled to the racing line. His position on the inside did not meet the criteria that would have forced Hamilton to leave him space through the corner.
On the other hand, the stewards noted that Lewis Hamilton turned into the corner earlier than what would typically be expected, thereby limiting the room available for Sainz to complete the overtaking attempt. This move contributed to the contact and indicated that Hamilton did not entirely account for Sainz’s presence on the inside.
Taking into account these observations, the stewards determined that both parties contributed equally to the minor collision. As a result, no penalty will be issued to either driver. The decision reflects the FIA’s view that incidents where fault is shared do not merit further disciplinary action, especially when the contact is minimal and does not significantly alter the outcome of the race.
Ultimately, the FIA has decided that the clash was a racing incident and that no further action is required. Both Hamilton and Sainz retain their finishing positions, and the race results remain unchanged following the inquiry.